SSA Print Logo Seismological Society of America
Skip to Content

Abstracts Online

Subduction Zone Seismic Experiment in Peru: Results from a Wireless Seismic Network

Stubailo, I., Guy, R., Lukac, M., Husker, A., Foote, E., Davis, P., UCLA Center for Embedded Networked Sensing, 3563 Boelter Hall, UCLA, Los Angeles, CA 90095, stubailo@ess.ucla.edu, rguy@cs.ucla.edu, mlukac@cs.ucla.edu, uskerhay@moho.ess.ucla.edu, efoote@ucla.edu, pdavis@ess.ucla.edu; Skinner, S., Phillips, K., Clayton, R., CalTech Tectonics Observatory, Seismo. Lab. 252-21 California Institute of Technology 1200 E. California Blvd., Pasadena, CA 91125, skinner@gps.caltech.edu, phillips@gps.caltech.edu, clay@gps.caltech.edu; Aguilar, V., Tavera, H., Instituto Geofisico del Peru, Apdo. 3747, Lima, Lima 100, Peru, vaguilarpw@yahoo.es, hjtavera@geo.igp.gob.pe; Audin, L., IRD, Casilla 18-1209, Lima, Lima 18, Peru, laurence.audin@ird.fr

A 50 station broadband seismic network has been recently installed from the coast to the high Andes in Peru. UCLA’s Center for Embedded Network Sensing (CENS) and Caltech’s Tectonic Observatory are collaborating with the IRD (French L’Institut de Recherche pour le Developement) and the Institute of Geophysics in Lima, Peru, in a broadband seismic experiment that aims to study the transition from steep to shallow slab subduction. The currently installed line has stations located above the steep subduction zone at a spacing of about 6 km. In 2009, we plan to install a line of 50 additional stations north from this line along the crest of the Andes, crossing the transition from steep to shallow subduction. A further line from the end of that line back to the coast, completing a U-shaped array, is in the planning phase. The current network is wirelessly linked using multi-hop network software designed by computer scientists at CENS. Data is transmitted from station to station, collected at Internet drops, and forwarded to CENS each night over the Internet. Some stations record on-site because it was not practically feasible to establish wireless links. The software system provides dynamic link quality-based routing, reliable data delivery, and a disruption-tolerant shell interface for managing the system from UCLA without the need to travel to Peru. The near real-time data delivery allows immediate detection of any problems at the sites. The preliminary results on receiver functions identify a dipping slab.

[Back]

Last Modified: 2011 Aug 10

Web: www.seismosoc.org