## 2023 Call for Nomination – Due Date May 15<sup>th</sup> 2023 JESUIT SEISMOLOGICAL ASSOCIATION AWARD for CONTRIBUTIONS TO OBSERVATIONAL SEISMOLOGY

The Eastern Section of the Seismological Society of America requests nominations for the 29<sup>th</sup> Annual Jesuit Seismological Association Award for Contributions to Observational Seismology. The award honors outstanding contributions to observational seismology and may be given for one specific contribution or for contributions through the years. There are no restrictions on the recipients or achievements that can be nominated, but preference will be given to:

- Members of the Eastern Section
- Members of the Seismological Society of America
- Contributions to the understanding of seismology and/or seismotectonics in eastern North America

The recipient will be selected by an awards committee established by the Eastern Section. Nominations must be made by a member of the Eastern Section. Please send the nominee's name and a one-page rationale for the nomination along with your name, your agency/institute and its location, your telephone number and your e-mail address to ES-SSA Secretary Seth Carpenter (seth.carpenter@uky.edu). For more information about the award, please visit <u>http://www.seismosoc.org/inside/eastern-section/jsa-award</u> or the following video <u>https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1BsmHYTODZY</u>. Nominations received up to 15<sup>th</sup> May 2023 will be considered for this year's award.

## **Former recipients:**

John Adams (2022)	Robert Youngs (2012)	Gail M. Atkinson (2002)
Susan E. Hough (2021)	Charles A. Langston (2011)	John Filson (2001)
Alan Kafka (2020)	Martitia P. Tuttle (2010)	Pradeep Talwani (2000)
Robert Wetmiller (2019)	Maurice Lamontagne (2009)	Arch C. Johnston (1999)
Chris Cramer (2018)	Won-Young Kim (2008)	Robert Herrmann (1998)
Art Frankel (2017)	Henry Hasegawa (2007)	William Stauder (1997)
Christine Powell (2016)	Timothy Long (2006)	Waverly Person (1996)
Martin C. Chapman (2015)	Gabriel Leblanc (2005)	Gil Bollinger (1995)
Russell Wheeler (2014)	Robert F. Mereu (2004)	
Kenneth Burke (2013)	John E. Ebel (2003)	

The recipient will be selected by an awards committee established by the Eastern Section. Nominations must be made by a member of the Eastern Section. If you wish to nominate someone, please fill out the following form:
Name:

Institution:	
	Ì

Location:				

Nominee: \_\_\_\_

Telephone:		
•		

Nomination Rationale: