Eastern Section SSA

Eastern Section SSA

The Eastern Section SSA is a separately incorporated technical section of the Seismological Society of America (SSA). It is focused on advancing the science of the seismology of Eastern North America and intraplate seismology.

Collected here are some short notes on the history and activities of the EASTERN SECTION of the Seismological Society of America (SSA).

History and Recent Incorporation
by Eastern Section President David W Eaton (from SRL 80:2, May/June 2009)

Current Officers

Bylaws of the Eastern Section

2017 Annual Meeting

The 89th Annual Meeting of the Eastern Section of SSA will be held 8–10 October 2017 in Norman, Oklahoma, hosted by the University of Oklahoma. The meeting will focus on geophysical studies using the permanent and temporary seismic network in the central and eastern United States, and hold special sessions for studies on induced seismicity, outcomes from local dense arrays, rapid responses for large earthquake and faults and structure in the central and eastern United States. For more information, please visit the meeting page.

History of the Eastern Section
Prepared by the 1999 ES-SSA Executive Committee

Past Officers

The Jesuit Contribution to Seismology

The Jesuit Seismological Association Award for Contributions to Observational Seismology

Open or download the JSA Award Nomination Form [PDF; 95 KB]

Save this PDF form to your computer, then fill it in using Adobe Reader, Adobe Acrobat, or another PDF-form capable program (alternatively, you may print it out, fill it in using a pen or typewriter, then scan it). Email the completed form to the ES-SSA secretary, Zhigang Peng, at zpeng@gatech.edu. Nominations must be received by 15 July to be considered for this year's award.

Note: The seismogram in the above logo is of the 5 September 1944, 04:38 UT Cornwall-Massena earthquake recorded at Georgetown University, Washington, DC.