Government Relations Committee Members

SSA’s public policy activities include educating our members on policy issues that affect the science, issuing resolutions or position statements on seismic matters, and providing information on seismic issues to U.S. legislators and staff, including responding to invitations to provide testimony before congressional committees.

  • Lisa Grant Ludwig (Chair), University of California, Irvine
  • John Anderson, University of Nevada, Reno
  • Rick AsterColorado State University
  • Keith KnudsenUnited States Geological Survey (USGS)
  • Jim MoriKyoto University
  • Stuart NishenkoPacific Gas and Electric Company
  • Linda Rowan, University NAVSTAR Consortium (UNAVCO)
  • Woody SavageUSGS Emeritus; University of Nevada, Las Vegas Applied Geophysics Center
  • Christa von Hillebrandt-Andrade, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, National Weather Service, Caribbean Tsunami Warning Program
  • William R. Walter, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
  • Deborah Weiser, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Mike West, University of Alaska, Fairbanks
  • Ray Willemann, Air Force Research Laboratory
  • Andy Michael, SSA President (ex officio), USGS
  • Peter Shearer, SSA President-Elect (ex officio), University of California, San Diego