U.S. Government Relations

AGI Government Relations Updates

AGI Current Issues Page: The American Geosciences Institute (AGI), a federation of over 50 earth science societies including SSA, maintains an ongoing newsfeed of the most up-to-date geoscience policy information. Click here to visit the page.

The SEISMOLOGICAL SOCIETY OF AMERICA (SSA) is an international scientific society devoted to the advancement of seismology and the understanding of earthquakes for the benefit of society. SSA was founded to "promote research in seismology, the scientific investigation of earthquakes and related phenomena, to promote public safety by all practical means, and to enlist the support of the people and the government in the attainment of these ends."

SSA is the largest and most respected society of seismologists in the world. An unbiased source of reliable information for any governmental agency or official seeking sound scientific advice, SSA is the primary forum for the assembly, exchange and dissemination of scientific knowledge essential for an earthquake aware and safer world. In the U.S. we are active participants in the Congressional Hazards Caucus Alliance, the NEHRP Coalition, the USGS Coalition, the Coalition for NSF and the Geo-Policy Working Group. If you have questions, we invite you to contact us at GovtRel [at] seismosoc [dot] org.

SSA Government Relations Committee

SSA’s public policy activities include educating our members on policy issues that affect the science, issuing resolutions or position statements on seismic matters, and providing information on seismic issues to U.S. legislators and staff, including responding to invitations to provide testimony before congressional committees.

Members of the Government Relations Committee

Government Relations News Items

Position Statements

Getting Involved

Communicating with Congress
See this site for tips on how to write to or visit your congressional representative, or email SSA Executive Director Nan Broadbent at nbroadbent@seismosoc.org for assistance.

Congressional Fellowships
See this page for more information on Congressional Fellowships offered by earth science societies (Science Fellows augment Congressional staffs and can have a big impact on public policy).

Some Key Congressional Committees

The National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program (NEHRP) is authorized by the following committees:

Research Subcommittee of the House Science Committee
Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation
House Science subcommittee on Technology & Innovation

After a program is authorized, funds must be appropriated for each government agency involved by one of the several subcommittees of the appropriations committees in the House and Senate.

NEHRP funds are divided among four agencies. The subcommittees that appropriate funds for the U.S. Geological Survey, part of the Department of the Interior, are called the "Subcommittee on Interior Environmental and Related Agencies" in the both Chambers. The subcommittee of the Appropriations Committees that handle NSF and NIST funds is called the Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, Science and Related Agencies. FEMA is appropriated under the Subcommittee on Homeland Security.