Apply for an Annual Meeting Travel Grant

SSA offers four types of travel grants to participate in the 2023 Annual Meeting:

  • Student Travel Grants are available to SSA student members from inside or outside the USA.
  • Early-Career Grants are available to early-career members who have been members in good standing for at least one year.
  • International Travel Grants are available to SSA members who are not students and who must travel from outside the US to attend the SSA meeting.
  • ESC/SSA Travel Grants are available to anyone traveling from a member-state of the European Seismological Commission. An active SSA membership is not required to apply for this grant. This grant is provided under a cooperative agreement between SSA and ESC. Click here to see the list of ESC member-states.

All applicants will be asked to submit a personal essay, a draft itinerary and an abstract as first author. All travel grant recipients must present their work in either an oral or poster session at the meeting.

Only one application per institution may be awarded. Only one application per category per institution may be awarded.

The grants include complimentary registration and funds to support lodging, meals and travel accommodations. For SSA 2023, international recipients will receive $2,500, domestic recipients will receive $1,500, and recipients who reside in Puerto Rico will receive $900.

Conveners: If you will be convening an Annual Meeting session and qualify for one of the above Annual Meeting travel grants, you may apply without submitting an abstract. In the section where it asks for your abstract, please explain you are co-convening a session and provide your session information there.

Letters of Support

  • Student applicants must have a faculty advisor submit a one-to-two paragraph letter of support to by 30 November 2022.
  • Early-Career applicants must submit a one-to-two paragraph letter of support from a supervisor to by 30 November 2022.

Review a Sample Application [299 KB].

The application period for SSA 2023 Annual Meeting Travel Grant Program is now closed.

If you have a question, contact us by email at

2023 Annual Meeting Travel Grant Recipients Announced 

SSA is awarding 23 student, early-career and international members travel grants to attend the Annual Meeting in Puerto Rico from 17-20 April 2023:

Student Travel Grant Recipients (funded by the Student Travel Grant Fund and General Fund):

  • Evan O. Marschall, University of California-Riverside
  • Chrispin Gabriel, University of Kentucky
  • Steve A.B. Carr, University of Rochester
  • Anna M. Ledeczi, University of Washington
  • Doriane Drolet, University of British Columbia
  • Marwa Safa, Gustave Eiffel University
  • Melish Kayastha, The University of Memphis
  • Alysha Armstrong, University of Utah
  • Margarita M. Solares-Colón, University of Oregon
  • Christ Faviana Ramos Sanchez, University of Massachusetts-Amherst
  • Pablo A. Aravena, Saint Louis University
  • Miguel Neves, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Lucia Andreuttiova, University College London
  • Andrea Paz Navarro-Aránguiz, Universidad de Chile
  • Sarah El Kadri, Université Grenoble Alpes
  • Ian Vandevert, University of California-San Diego
  • Danielle Lindsay, University of California-Berkeley
  • Lucia Gonzalez, The University of Texas at El Paso

Early Career Travel Grant Recipients (funded by the Student Travel Grant Fund and General Fund):

  • Sergio Leon-Rios, Universidad de Chile
  • Voon Hui, Australian National University

International Travel Grant Recipients (funded by the Kanamori Fund):

  • Arsène Tumaini Sadiki, Goma Volcano Observatory
  • Somak Hazra, University of Alberta

European Seismological Commission/SSA Travel Grant Recipients (funded by the Kanamori Fund):

  • Sergio Gammaldi, Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia

Thank you to everyone who submitted a travel grant application for consideration!