SSA Print Logo Seismological Society of America
Skip to Content

Awards to be Presented at the
2015 Annual Meeting

SSA is pleased to announce the recipients of several of the Society's awards for 2014. These awards will be presented at the Society's Annual Meeting in Pasadena, California in April 2015.

  • The 2014 Reid Medal has been awarded to Dr. Thorne Lay, Professor of Earth Science, Univeristy of California, Santa Cruz.  [Press Release]
  • The 2014 Richter Early Career Award has been awarded to Dr. Victor Tsai, Seismological Laborator, California Institute of Technology.  [Press Release]


Nominations for the first four SSA awards are solicited from the members to be sent to the SSA Secretary by the due date of 15 February of each year. Click award names for more information, including calls for nominations, lists of past winners, etc.

The Harry Fielding Reid Medal

The Harry Fielding Reid Medal of the Seismological Society of America is awarded for outstanding contributions in seismology and earthquake engineering. It is awarded no more frequently than once in any calendar year. The medal is presented at the annual meeting following the year of the award and the Medal citation and acceptance are published in in the September issue of Seismological Research Letters (SRL) following the presentation.

The Charles F. Richter Early Career Award

The Charles F. Richter Early Career Award honors outstanding contributions to the goals of the Society by a member early in her or his career. No more than one Richter Award may be given each calendar year. The Richter award is presented at the annual meeting following the year of the award.

The Frank Press Public Service Award

The SSA has instituted the Public Service Award to recognize outstanding work that serves the profession of seismology or the advancement of public safety or public information relating to seismology. This award may be given to any individual, combination of individuals, or organization. No more than one Public Service Award may be given each calendar year. The Public Service Award is presented at the annual meeting following the year of the award.

The Distinguished Service to SSA Award

The Distinguished Service to SSA Award honors individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the work of the Society. This award can be given to any person, and it is presented at the annual meeting following the year of the award.

Additional Awards

Student Presentation Award

In order to help identify outstanding work by SSA student members, the SSA Board initiated the Student Presentation Award. The award will be given for an excellent poster presentation or talk at each Annual Meeting.

Eastern Section-SSA Jesuit Seismological Association Award

The Eastern Section of the Seismological Society of America honors outstanding contributions to observational seismology with the Jesuit Seismological Association Award. The award may be given for one specific contribution or for contributions through the years.

Honorary Members

Honorary members of the Society are persons distinguished for their attainments in seismology or related sciences, or for their service to the profession or the society. Honorary membership status is presently conferred upon Medalists and winners of the Distinguished Service to the SSA award.

COSMOS/EERI/SSA Bruce Bolt Medal

SSA is joining COSMOS and EERI in awarding The Bruce Bolt Medal. The award will recognize individuals worldwide whose accomplishments involve the promotion and use of strong-motion earthquake data and whose leadership in the transfer of scientific and engineering knowledge into practice or policy has led to improved seismic safety. The nomination deadline is August 31st.

Lecture Series

In addition to the above awards, SSA also sponsors two annual lecture series.

IRIS-SSA Distinguished Lectureship Series

The Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology (IRIS) and SSA jointly sponsor an annual national lecture series in seismology. The selection committee seeks nominations from the seismological community for two lecturers to be so honored every year. The general goal of the program is to increase visibility, awareness of relevance, and excitement for seismology with the general public.

The William B. Joyner Memorial Lectures

The Joyner Memorial Lectures were established by the SSA in cooperation with the Earthquake Engineering Research Institute (EERI) to honor Bill Joyner's distinguished career at the U.S. Geological Survey and his abiding commitment to the exchange of information at the interface of earthquake science and earthquake engineering, so to keep society safer from earthquakes.

Last Modified: 2015 Feb 05