SSA Print Logo Seismological Society of America
Skip to Content
Waves crashing over rocks

2009 Annual Meeting


April 8-10, 2009


The Technical Program Overview [PDF; 144 K] and Program Schedule [PDF; 264 K] are available for download (Adobe® (Acrobat) Reader 5 or better (or equivalent software) required).

A searchable database of meeting abstracts, including session, schedule and location info, is now available online.

Marcia McLaren is this year's program chair.  Information and schedule for the 27 sessions is now available. There are 287 oral presentations and 200 posters planned for the 3-day conference.   Robin McGuire will deliver this year's Joyner Lecture.

One focus of the meeting will be the 20th anniversary of the M 6.9 Loma Prieta earthquake (17 October 1989).  Much has been learned about science, engineering and public policy of earthquakes since then.  There has also been a tremendous development of observation networks and tools to study and respond to earthquakes that are now in use all over the world. 


Luncheon Speakers

Wednesday, April 8 - Presidential Address

William L. Ellsworth, SSA President

Seismology for Challenging Times

Thursday, April 9 - Public Policy Address

Sam Blakeslee, California Assemblyman

Seismic Hazard Risk Mitigation-Intersection of Policy and Politics

Sam Blakeslee earned both his bachelors and masters degrees in geophysics from the University of California, Berkeley.  He then earned a PhD from the University of California, Santa Barbara for his research in seismic scattering, micro-earthquake studies, and fault-zone attenuation.  A former geophysicist and strategic planner with Exxon Research Production Co., Blakeslee worked in the Long Range Research Division and Subsurface Imaging Division performing research in crosswell seismic imaging, inverse theory, and seismic attribute visualization during the 1990’s.  Blakeslee, a Republican, is now serving his third term with the California State Legislature, representing San Luis Obispo and northern Santa Barbara Counties.  He sits on the Utilities and Commerce Committee, Insurance Committee and is Vice Chair of the Rules Committee.




[ Back ]


Last Modified: 2014 Jan 06