Ellen M. Rathje to Deliver 2018 William B. Joyner Lecture

25 October 2017–The Earthquake Engineering Research Institute (EERI) and the Seismological Society of America (SSA) are pleased to announce that University of Texas at Austin Professor Ellen M. Rathje is the 2018 recipient of the William B. Joyner Lecture Award. Rathje will deliver the Joyner Lecture at Seismology 2018, a … Continue Reading »

SSA Announces 2017 Award Winners

reid medal in box; Credit: SSA

24 May 2016 – SSA is pleased to announce the recipients of several of the Society’s awards for 2017. The winners of the Harry Fielding Reid Medal, the Charles F. Richer Early Career Award, the Frank Press Public Service Award, and the Distinguished Service to SSA Award are among the highest honors conferred by the Society.

Congratulations to Reid Medal recipient George Plafker; Richter recipient Annemarie Baltay; Press Award recipient Lori Dengler; and Distinguished Service recipient Keith Knudsen.

Continue Reading »

Farzad Naeim to be Awarded the 2017 Bruce A. Bolt Medal

17 January 2017 – Farzad Naeim (M. EERI, 1983), President of Farzad Naeim, Inc. and Adjunct Professor of Engineering at University of California, Irvine, has been named the 2017 recipient of the Bruce A. Bolt Medal. The Bruce Bolt Medal is awarded jointly by the Consortium of Strong Motion Observation Systems (COSMOS), the Seismological … Continue Reading »