David J. Wald Selected as 2022 Joyner Lecturer

David Wald

15 November 2021–The Earthquake Engineering Research Institute (EERI) and the Seismological Society of America (SSA) are pleased to announce that David J. Wald, a seismologist with the U.S. Geological Survey’s National Earthquake Information Center (NEIC) in Golden, Colorado, is the 2022 recipient of the William B. Joyner Lecture Award. Wald … Continue Reading »

C.B Crouse Awarded 2022 Bolt Medal

CB Crouse

15 November 2021–The Earthquake Engineering Research Institute (EERI), the Consortium of Organizations for Strong Motion Observation Systems (COSMOS), and SSA are pleased to announce that C.B. Crouse, principal engineer at AECOM, is the recipient of the 2022 Bruce Bolt Medal. The award will be presented at the 12th National Conference … Continue Reading »

Global Travel Grant Recipients Announced

SSA logo teal graphic

SSA awarded Shanna Chu, Danielle Lindsay and Christina Tsarsitalidou with travel grants to present their research at technical conferences later this Fall. The grants are part of the Global Travel Grant program, which was established to support the careers of student and early-career members. Two student recipients are heading to … Continue Reading »

SSA Announces 2021 Award Recipients

reid medal in box; Credit: SSA

1 June 2021–SSA is pleased to announce the recipients of several of the Society’s awards for 2020. The Harry Fielding Reid Medal, the Charles F. Richter Early Career Award and the Frank Press Public Service Award are among the highest honors conferred by the Society. 2021 Harry Fielding Reid Medal: … Continue Reading »