2012 Recipient

James Rice

The Seismological Society of America (SSA) presented its highest honor, the Harry Fielding Reid Medal, to James R. Rice, the Mallinckrodt Professor of Engineering Sciences and Geophysics at Harvard University, at its annual meeting April 17-19 in Salt Lake City. First awarded in 1975, the Harry Fielding Reid Medal is … Continue Reading »

2011 Recipient

Barbara Romanowicz

Through the course of her career, Barbara Romanowicz has studied the Earth from its surface to its center, establishing herself as one of the most influential seismologists of her time. For her outstanding contributions in seismology and earthquake engineering, the Seismological Society of America (SSA) awarded Romanowicz its top honor, … Continue Reading »

2010 Recipient

Tatyana G. Rautian

A heavyweight in the field of seismology who drove research efforts in the former Soviet Union, Tanya Glebovna Rautian, often called “The Charles Richter of the former Soviet Union” and “generator of ideas,” has dedicated her life to the development of seismology and science in central Asia. She is widely … Continue Reading »