To submit an announcement to be posted on this page, send an e-mail with the announcement in it to info@seismosoc.org.

AIPG Scholarship Programs

The American Institute of Professional Geologists (AIPG) has annual scholarship programs, the AIPG National Undergraduate Scholarship and the Foundation of AIPG William J. Siok Graduate Scholarship Program, which assist students with education costs and promotes student participation in AIPG. AIPG provides up to 10 undergraduate scholarships and 1 graduate scholarship each year, of the amounts $1,000-$3,000 and $1,000 respectively.

Full details of the application processes can be found on the AIPG website. In general, all applicants must submit: 1) a cover letter; 2) an essay on why the applicant wants to become a geologist; 3) a copy of the applicant’s transcript and proof of current enrollment as a student; and 4) a letter of support from a faculty member. This application packet should either be submitted by email to aipg@aipg.org or a physical packet sent to:

American Institute of Professional Geologists
Attn: Education Committee Chair
12000 Washington St., Suite 285
Thornton, CO 80241-3134

Applications must be received by midnight Mountain Standard Time (MST) on 15 February; awards are given in May. For questions regarding the application process, call (303) 412-6205 or e-mail aipg@aipg.org.


Association for Women Geoscientists Scholarships

The Association for Women Geoscientists awards many scholarships each year. To see the scholarships currently available, please visit the AWG Award and Scholarships page of the AWG website.

Each scholarship has its own requirements, restrictions and deadline. For more information, visit the AWG Web site at http://www.awg.org/, send an email to office@awg.org or call (303) 412-6219.


EarthScope Program Solicitation for Science and Education

The EarthScope Program Solicitation has been posted on the National Science Foundation (NSF) website: https://www.nsf.gov/pubs/2017/nsf17577/nsf17577.htm?org=NSF

This solicitation calls for single or collaborative proposals to conduct scientific research associated with EarthScope and support activities that further the scientific and educational goals of EarthScope.

The deadline for proposals to be funded is 12 February 2018.


Fulbright Grants

The Fulbright Scholar Program offers several lecturing and research awards. Awards for both faculty and professionals range from two months to an academic year or longer. While foreign-language skills are needed in some countries, most Fulbright lecturing assignments are in English. Application deadlines vary for Fulbright traditional lecturing and research grants worldwide.

For more information, visit the Fulbright Scholar Program website at http://www.cies.org, send an email to Scholars@iie.org, call +1 (202) 686-4000 or contact:

1400 K Street, NW, Suite 700
Washington, DC 20005


ROSE School Fellowships

The European School of Advanced Studies in Reduction of Seismic Risk (ROSE) was founded in 2000 with the aim of providing higher-level education in the field of earthquake engineering. In December 2001, the European Commission designed the ROSE School as a Marie Curie Training Site, providing funds to finance postgraduate scholarships with a duration of three to twelve months. The fellowships, with a value of 1,200 euros per month, may be awarded to Ph.D. students currently undertaking research work on topics related to earthquake engineering and who wish to spend a relatively short period of time at the ROSE School attending courses or carrying out research work under the supervision of one of the faculty members. Application criteria and instructions on how to submit an application can be found at http://www.roseschool.it/site-pages/show/id/70.


Shah Prize for Innovation

EERI is accepts nominations annually for the Shah Family Innovation Prize. Each year, EERI awards one young professional or academic for creativity, innovation, and entrepreneurial spirit in the field of earthquake engineering. Information about the Shah Prize and instructions for nominations can be viewed at https://www.eeri.org/about-eeri/honors-awards/shah-family-innovation-prize/.

The Prize winner will be announced at the EERI annual meeting.


Shamsher Prakash Foundation Annual Awards

The Shamsher Prakash Foundation solicits nominations annually for the Shamsher Prakash Research Award and the Shamsher Prakash Annual Prize for Excellence in the Practice of Geotechnical Engineering. Nominations for both awards are due by 1 September. Candidates should be a specialists in geotechnical engineering and/or geotechnical earthquake engineering. Each award consists of a cash prize of $1,100 and a plaque.

For further information, or to submit a nomination, visit the Foundation’s website at http://www.yoga10.org/, send an email to prakash@mst.edu or contact the Foundation at:

Attn: Sally Prakash, Honorary Secretary
Shamsher Prakash Foundation
Anand Kutir
1707 Jackson Circle
Rolla, MO 65401