Annual Meeting Travel Grant Recipients Announced

SSA announced 21 student and international members will receive travel grants to attend the Annual Meeting in Seattle, to be held 23–26 April 2019.

These travel grants are made possible by member contributions to the Kanamori Fund, the General Fund and the Student Travel Fund. Grant recipients receive complimentary conference registration and a cash stipend for transportation, food and lodging.

The 21 recipients of the 2019 Annual Meeting travel grants are as follows:

Student Travel Grant (funded by the Student Travel Grant Fund and General Fund)
Lauren S. Abrahams, Stanford University
Ariana L. Astorga, UGA/CNRS/IFSTTAR/ISTerre
Han Bao, University of California, Los Angeles
Ian P. Cooper, Weston Observatory, Boston College
Rachel L. Hatch, University of Nevada, Reno
David Heath, Colorado State University
Isabel Hong, Rutgers University
Michael Mann, Cornell University
Samantha Marie Palmer, University of Western Ontario
Jason S. Padgett, University of Rhode Island
Marshall Pontrelli, Tufts University
John M. Rekoske, U.S. Geological Survey, Colorado School of Mines
Joel D. Simon, Princeton University
Drake M. Singleton, San Diego State University and UC San Diego 
Jiong Wang, UC Santa Barbara
Nan Wang, San Diego State University
Zongbo Xu, Boise State University
Zhengyang Zhou, Washington University in St. Louis

International Travel Grant (funded by the Kanamori Fund)
Lepolt Linkimer, Universidad de Costa Rica
Chuanbin Zhu, GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences

European Seismological Commission/SSA Travel Grant (funded by the Kanamori Fund)
Elif Tuerker, University of Potsdam

SSA continues to seek donations to meet the high demand for travel grants. If you would like to contribute, follow the link below.

Support Student Travel Grants