SSA News and Announcements

To suggest a news item or announcement for this page (and/or for the News & Notes section of Seismological Research Letters) click here or send an email to

To subscribe to this page as an RSS 2.0 feed, click here: RSS

SSA frequently posts informal news notes and announcements of interest to the seismological community to our Facebook page — stop by and "Like" us today.

1 2 3 8

Farzad Naeim to be Awarded the 2017 Bruce A. Bolt Medal

17 January 2017
17 January 2017 - Farzad Naeim (M. EERI, 1983), President of Farzad Naeim, Inc. and Adjunct Professor of Engineering at University of California, Irvine, has been named the 2017 recipient of the Bruce A. Bolt Medal. The Bruce Bolt Medal is awarded jointly by the Consortium of Strong Motion Observation Systems (COSMOS), the Seismological Society of America (SSA), and the...
Read More

2017 SSA Election Results

9 January 2017
9 January 2016 - Seismological Society of America held its election on January 6, 2017. Election America, Inc., tabulated and validated the votes of current members that were received by the deadline, 5 p.m. (Pacific) on January 6.The following nominees for Director were elected to a three-year term beginning in April 2017:Sergio E. Barrientos, National Seismological Center, University...
Read More

Register for 2017 Annual Meeting

30 December 2016

Registration is now open
for the 2017 SSA Annual Meeting, April 18-20, 2017, at the Sheraton Downtown in Denver, Colorado.

Consider participating in special events organized for the SSA community:

  • Monday, April 17: Two Pre-meeting workshops (registration required)
    —Probabilistic Seismic Hazards Assessment: from Basics to Induced Seismicity, 2 – 5 PM
    —Publishing: Be a Good Reviewer, Advance Your Career, 2:30 – 4:30 PM

The registration fee includes entry into all technical sessions, coffee breaks, luncheons, “Pint and Poster” hours, Ice Breaker reception and the Joyner lecture and reception, as well as the opportunity to register for field trips and pre-meeting workshops.

Learn more about the 2017 SSA Annual Meeting or visit the Registration Form.

Call For Papers: BSSA Special Issue on the 2016 Kaikoura Earthquake, Landslides and Tsunami

29 December 2016

bssa_sm29 December 2016 – This earthquake beneath the northern part of New Zealand’s South Island, in the transition from continental strike-slip faulting in the south to subduction in the north, was one of the largest earthquakes to strike New Zealand in historic times.

The earthquake caused extensive surface deformation as it ruptured a complex series of faults with up to 13 m of predominantly horizontal displacement, resulting in unprecedented opportunities to study the surface expression of a major fault rupture. Fault displacement and strong ground motions resulted in coastal uplift, a small tsunami, and tens of thousands of landslides. The complex spatial distribution of surface ruptures and displacements, the long duration of the earthquake, and the subsequent slow slip episode in the Hikurangi subduction zone raise questions about controls on coseismic and post-seismic strain accommodation in large earthquakes, and how slip is transferred between tectonic regimes.

We solicit papers on all aspects of the earthquake. Continue for more information about the special issue.


Record Number of Travel Grants Awarded for 2017 Annual Meeting

22 December 2016

22 December 2016 – A record-setting 66 members applied for travel grants to attend the 2017 Annual Meeting. With the generous support of the SSA community, the Travel Grant Selection Committee awarded eighteen grants to support the participation of our European Seismological Commission, international and student members at the Annual Meeting in Denver, April 18-20, 2017.

Supported by the Kanamori Fund and Student Travel Fund, the grants waive the fee for registration and provide a cash stipend for travel expenses.

Continue for list of grant recipients.

Bill Rinehart and the SSA Student Travel Fund

1 December 2016
Bill Rinehart and Susan Newman at AGU in 2012.
Bill Rinehart & Susan Newman, AGU 2012

30 November 2016 – SSA members may know Wilbur “Bill” Rinehart from an Annual Meeting, or the SSA booth at the American Geophysical Union meetings, or maybe from one of his dodecahedral world seismicity maps that graced museums, labs and classrooms for many years. Rinehart, a member since 1961, has been the unofficial historian of the Society for many decades.

And in that unofficial history, Rinehart is known for his generosity in funding the SSA Student Travel Fund, after the Society had celebrated its centennial year in 2006.

Learn more about Bill Rinehart and the student travel grant program he helped found. 

Call for Papers: SRL Focus Section: The M5.8 2016 Pawnee Earthquake, Oklahoma

20 November 2016
21 November 2016 - Seismological Research Letters announces a May 2107 Focus Section on the 3 September 2016 Pawnee earthquake (Mw5.8), the largest recorded earthquake in Oklahoma. Topics include seismological, geodetical, geological, hydrological and engineering aspects, as well as source rupture processes, new field observations, fore- and aftershock sequences, hydro-geophysical modeling, structural imaging and interdisciplinary studies.Contact guest editors Norimitsu Nakata...
Read More

Apply Now for 2017 SSA Annual Meeting Travel Grants

21 October 2016

Travel grants to attend the 2017 SSA Annual Meeting in Denver, Colorado are available to student SSA members, international SSA members and persons traveling from the European Seismological Commission member states. The grant application period is now open, and all applications are due 30 November 2016.

Eastern Section SSA: Deadlines Approaching for Annual Meeting

25 August 2016

From the Mantle to the Surface:
A Joint Meeting of the Eastern Section of SSA and NGA-East

23–26 October 2016
Reston, Virginia, USA
Sheraton Hotel

Important Dates

Student Travel Grant Application Deadline: 26 August 2016
Hotel Room Block Reservation Cutoff: 2 September 2016
Abstract Submission Deadline: 19 September 2016
Final Online Registration Deadline: 21 October 2016

1 2 3 8